Why is it that people generally volunteer only on Easter, Christmas, Thanksgiving or New Years? Even if you volunteer for the holidays on the list it still isn’t enough. Why not got to a soup kitchen or food pantry to volunteer say once a month. Or walk around in the winter handing out hot chocolate and emergency mylar blankets to those in need? If you’re not comfortable with the idea of helping hands on then you can always donate to Backpacks For The Street and or purchase items off of our Amazon Wishlist. The shipping is free and packages get delivered directly to our office.

Try to put yourself into their shoes. Wouldn’t you want someone to help you if you’re living on the street?

Below are holidays in the US that are celebrated across the 50 states. 

2019 Recognized Holidays:

  • New Year’s Day: Monday, January 1
  • Martin Luther King Jr, Day: Monday, January 21
  • Groundhog Day: Saturday, February 2
  • Valentine’s Day: Thursday, February 14
  • President’s Day: Monday, February 18
  • Saint Patrick’s Day: Sunday, March 17
  • Tax Day: Monday, April 15
  • Good Friday: Friday, April 19
  • Easter: Sunday, April 21
  • Cinco de Mayo: Sunday, May 5
  • Mother’s Day: Sunday, May 12
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 27
  • Father’s Day: Sunday, June 16
  • Independence Day: Thursday, July 4
  • Labor Day: Monday, September 2
  • Columbus Day: Monday, October 14
  • Halloween: Thursday, October 31
  • Veterans Day: Monday, November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, November 28
  • Black Friday: Friday, November 29
  • Christmas Day: Wednesday, December 25
  • New Year’s Eve 2019: Tuesday, December 31

Information is out there to help the homeless or if you yourself are going to be homeless there are a few links below that can assist you.

 

PLACES TO LOOK FOR HELP*


NCH’s Online Directory of Homeless Advocacy and Service Organizations
This directory does not list every homeless and housing program in the country — unfortunately, there is no such list. If you are in a rural area, you may be more likely to find help from a community action agency. The National Community Action Partnership website provides a partial list of community action agencies across the country.It may also be helpful to simply contact the nearest agency you can find and ask them directly if there are any service providers in the area that is closest to you.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Contact your local HUD office.

Health Care for the Homeless Information Resource Center
If you are homeless and have health care needs, there may be a Health Care for the Homeless program near you that can help. Health Care for the Homeless programs also provide referrals for other services such as housing, so it may be useful to contact the program nearest you to see what services are available.

In rural areas, prevention and/or emergency assistance programs may be operated by community action agencies (see the National Community Action Partnership web site).

If you are a teenager and are thinking about running away from home, or if you are already living on the streets, call the National Runaway Switchboard. The Switchboard is a toll-free, confidential hotline. Dial 1-800-621-4000 or visit the Switchboard’s website.

¿Necesita ayuda? Tenemos unalista de recursos en español.

Do a little research and find where homeless people are in your area. Check out food pantries, soup kitchens, and coat drives for the need of volunteers.

It takes so little to do so much.

*source: National Homeless.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
%d bloggers like this: